Mayor and City Council

The City of Beresford operates under an aldermanic form of government consisting of a mayor and six council members. Council members are elected from three wards in the city and the Mayor is elected at-large. Mayors of Beresford serve two-year terms, while Council members serve staggered two-year terms with elections conducted every April. 


Some duties of the Council are as follows:

  • Make decisions about the running of the city

  • Act as a board of the local utilities

  • Act as a board of the equalization on property taxes

  • Make ordinances and regulations

Council Meetings

The Beresford City Council meets on the 1st and 3rd Monday of each month. Meetings begin at 7:00 p.m. and are held at:

Beresford City Hall, City Council Chambers

101 N. Third Street

City Council Meetings are open to the public. If you would like to address the council, please contact City Hall at (605) 763-2008 or email the City Administrator.

Terms of Office - Effective June 2021

Check out the Terms of Office if you would like to contact a council member regarding a specific topic or to find the committee members of a certain board within the City of Beresford. 

Beresford, SD Ward Map
Click here for a bigger view.

Ward Map.JPG
Nathan A.jpg
Nathan Anderson
Term Expires:  May 2022
Ward 1
Art S.jpg
Art Schott
Term Expires:  May 2023
Troy B.jpg
Troy Boone
Term Expires:  May 2022
Ward 2
Will R.jpg
William Roelke
Term Expires:  May 2023
Mike T.jpg
Michael Tiedeman
Term Expires:  May 2022
Ward 3
Troy D.jpg
Troy Doeden
Term Expires:  May 2023
Teresa S.jpg
Teresa Sveeggen
Term Expires:  May 2022
City Attorney
Tom F.jpg
Tom Frieberg
Frieberg, Nelson & Ask L.L.P.